Book now
Local-Festivals-and-Attractions_Sega_masthead.jpg

местных фестивалей

местных фестивалей

Испытайте местные праздники и традиции Маврикия.

Мероприятия и опыт

Китайский Новый год празднуется китайской общиной на Маврикии и обычно приходится на январь или февраль. Празднование китайского Нового года включает взрыв хлопушек, которые, как считается, отгоняют злых духов (если таковые имеются). Многие семьи собираются вместе, чтобы отпраздновать китайский Новый год с большим количеством вкусной еды, и все торжества завершаются китайским танцем льва. Цветовой код фестиваля — красный, символизирующий счастье. Китайский Новый год в основном отмечается в районе Чайна-таун в Порт-Луи.

Сроки

Январь / Февраль

Это один из главных праздников, отмечаемых на Маврикии. Maha Shivaratreeозначает Великую ночь Шивы и отмечается маврикийцами индуистской веры. Фестиваль отмечается во время новолуния (лунная фаза, во время которой звезды не видны на ночном небе). Это включает в себя преданных, направляющихся к Grand Bassin, которое считается священным озером. Преданные верят, что воды Grand Bassin происходят из вод священной реки Ганг в Индии. Преданные совершают подношения пищи и черпают воду из озера, а также одеваются в белое как символ жертвоприношения.

Сроки

Февраль / Март

Несмотря на то, что на Маврикии это не государственный праздник, Пасху отмечают тысячи семей, и не только католики. Фактически, многие маврикийцы соблюдают пост и воздержание в течение 40 дней до Пасхи. Вообще, как и во многих странах мира, во время Страстной недели проводится множество обрядов. Обычно люди посещают мессу в канун Пасхи и в субботу вечером. После празднования Пасху обычно проводят в кругу семьи из нескольких поколений, где традиция остается неизменной: делиться шоколадом.

Сроки

Март / Апрель

Святыня французского католического священника и миссионера Père Jacques-Désiré Laval является чем-то вроде Лурда Индийского океана, и многие чудеса приписываются паломничеству сюда. Падре умер в 1864 году и был причислен к лику блаженных в 1979 году во время визита Папы Иоанна Павла II. Père Laval приписывают обращение в христианство 67 000 человек за 23 года его пребывания на Маврикии, и он является популярной фигурой среди маврикийцев всех религий. Паломники приезжают даже из Южной Африки, Великобритании и Франции, чтобы отметить годовщину его смерти 9 сентября. Обратите внимание на цветное гипсовое изображение священника на вершине гробницы — оно было отполировано паломниками, ищущими чудес.

Сроки

9 сентября

Считающийся национальным праздником, Дивали, фестиваль огней, является одним из крупнейших индуистских фестивалей, где отмечают победу добра над злом и света над тьмой. Зажигается множество разноцветных гирлянд и маленькие традиционные глиняные светильники (дияс). В некоторых домах есть волшебные огни и экстравагантная обстановка, что делает их волшебными.

Сроки

Октябрь / ноябрь

Фестиваль Кавади — один из самых важных праздников на Маврикии, его отмечают индийцы, приехавшие из Тамил Наду. Этот праздник считается одним из самых тщательно отмечаемых на Маврикии. Некоторым верующим прокалывают щеки, языки и грудь иглами перед тем, как отправиться в храм, неся свои подношения, привязанные к спине. Преданные ходят босиком и несут на спине кавади (арку из дерева, пластика или металла), которая представляет собой священную гору кавади. Cavadee украшен цветами и накрыт кувшином с молоком. Он также включает хождение по огню и восхождение на меч, что является популярным развлечением на фестивале.

Сроки

Январь / Февраль

Национальный день Маврикия отмечается 12 марта в ознаменование дня обретения страной независимости от Соединенного Королевства в 1968 году. Республика Маврикий была образована в 1992 году.

Сроки

12 марта

Ганеш Чатурти отмечается индуистской общиной Маврикия. Вы могли видеть преданных, несущих маленьких идолов Господа Ганеши на пляжи или другие берега рек, особенно перед закатом. Затем этих идолов погружают в воду, этот ритуал также известен как Ганеш Висарджан.

Сроки

Август / сентябрь

Отпразднуйте праздник Ид-уль-Фитр вместе с маврикийскими мусульманами. Этот праздник наступает после окончания священного месяца поста Рамадан. Все маврикийские мусульмане с большим удовольствием отмечают этот особенный день, который включает в себя молитвы, обмен подарками с семьей, совместное использование еды и сладостей, благотворительные пожертвования и проведение времени с семьями, любимыми и друзьями.

Маврикийцы наслаждаются празднованием Рождества в оживленной тропической летней атмосфере под обычно палящим солнцем, но это не мешает Санта-Клаусу заглядывать с множеством подарков для молодых и старых. Хотя Рождество в первую очередь является христианским праздником, его празднуют почти все, и христиане, и нехристиане собираются вместе семьями и обмениваются подарками.

BEST PRICE GUARANTEE

Book now
Local-Festivals-and-Attractions_Sega_masthead.jpg

Local Festivals

Local Festivals

Experience the local festivities and traditions of Mauritius.

Activities & Experiences

The Chinese New Year is celebrated by the Chinese community in Mauritius and usually falls in January or February. Celebrations of the Chinese New Year include bursting fire crackers, which are believed to ward off evil spirits (if any). Many families get together to celebrate the Chinese New Year with plenty of delicious food and all the festivities are concluded with the Chinese Lion Dance. The colour code of the festival is red which symbolises happiness. The Chinese New Year is primarily celebrated in the China Town area of Port Louis.

Timing

January/February

This is one of the major festivals celebrated in Mauritius. Maha Shivaratri means Siva's Great Night and is celebrated by Mauritians of Hindu faith. The festival is celebrated during the new moon (lunar phase during which the stars are not visible in the night sky). This involves devotees heading to the Grand Bassin, which is considered a sacred lake. Devotees believe that the waters of the Grand Bassin come from the waters of the holy River Ganga in India. Devotees make food offerings and draw water from the lake, and dress in white as a symbol of sacrifice.

Timing

February/March

Even though it is not a public holiday in Mauritius, Easter is celebrated by thousands of families, and not only Catholics. In fact, many Mauritians observe fasting and abstinence for the 40 days prior to Easter. In general, as in many countries around the world, many ceremonies are held during Holy Week. Usually, people attend Easter Eve's mass on Saturday night as well. After the celebration, Easter is usually spent with multigenerational family get-together where the tradition remains unchanged: the sharing of chocolates.

Timing

March/April

The shrine of French Catholic priest and missionary Père Jacques-Désiré Laval is something of a Lourdes of the Indian Ocean, with many miracles attributed to pilgrimages here. The padre died in 1864 and was beatified in 1979 during a visit by Pope John Paul II. Père Laval is credited with converting 67,000 people to Christianity during his 23 years in Mauritius and is a popular figure with Mauritians of all religions. Pilgrims come from as far afield as South Africa, Britain and France to commemorate the anniversary of his death on 9 September. Notice the coloured plaster effigy of the priest on top of the tomb – it's been rubbed smooth by miracle-seeking pilgrims.

Timing

September 9

Considered as a national celebration, Divali, the festival of lights, is one of the biggest Hindu festivals where they celebrate the victory of good over evil and light over darkness. An abundance of colourful garlands and small traditional clay lamps (Diyas) are lit. Some houses have fairy lights and an extravagant setup as well, making them seem quite magical.

Timing

October/November

The Cavadee festival is one of the most important festivals in Mauritius and is celebrated by Indians who came from Tamil Nadu. Considered one of the most elaborately celebrated festivals in Mauritius, some devotees get their cheeks, tongues and chests pierced with needles before going to the temple carrying their offerings tied to their backs. The devotees walk bare feet and carry the Cavadee (an arch made of wood, plastic or metal) on their backs, which represents the holy Cavdee Mountain. The Cavadee is adorned with flowers and is covered with a pot of milk. It also includes fire-walking and sword-climbing, which is a popular attraction of the festival.

Timing

January/February

The national day in Mauritius is celebrated on the 12th of March and commemorates the date the country gained independence from the United Kingdom in 1968. The Republic of Mauritius was formed in 1992.

Timing

March 12

Ganesh Chaturthi is celebrated by the Hindu community in Mauritius. You would see devotees carrying small idols of Lord Ganesha to beaches or other riverbanks, especially before sunset. These idols are then immersed in water, a ritual also popularly known as Ganesh Visarjan.

Timing

August/September

Celebrate Eid-Ul-Fitr Festival with Mauritian Muslims. This celebration comes after the holy fasting month Ramadan ends. All Mauritian Muslims celebrate this special day with great gusto which includes praying, exchanging gifts with family, sharing food and sweet delights, charity donations and spending time with families, loved ones and friends.

Mauritians enjoy Christmas celebrations in a lively tropical summery atmosphere under a usually scorching sun, yet this does not stop Santa Claus from popping in with lots of presents for young and old. Whilst primarily a Christian celebration, Christmas is celebrated by almost everyone, with Christian and non-Christian alike getting together as families and exchanging gifts.

BEST PRICE GUARANTEE